Home >> News >> Top Stories >> Harrison, Poitevint win

Harrison, Poitevint win

Fifty-four percent of Gilchrist County’s registered voters cast a ballot in the General Election with the majority voting to re-elect D. Ray Harrison Jr. as Gilchrist County Commissioner, District 2. Voters also elected Marion C. Poitevint as County Commissioner District 4. Harrison received 3,601 votes, while his challenger, Democrat John Yencho got 2,345 votes. Poitevint defeated incumbent County Commissioner, District 4 John Rance Thomas by 261 votes. The county referendum passed by a 3,370 to 2,493 vote. Local voters were in favor of Amendment 1, No on Amendment 2, and No on Amendment 3. The majority of Gilchrist County voters also favored Congressman Ted Yoho, Governor Rick Scott, Attorney General Pam Bondi, Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater, Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam, and State Representative Keith Perry.
A full breakdown on votes at each precinct in the county will be printed in next week’s Journal.