Home >> News >> Features >> J.M. Everett to be inducted into Florida FFA Hall of Fame on September 24

J.M. Everett to be inducted into Florida FFA Hall of Fame on September 24

Florida FFA announced the inductees for the 2018 Florida FFA Hall of Fame. This year a longtime much admired resident of Gilchrist County, J.M. “Murph” Everett will be inducted to the Florida FFA Hall of Fame. Mr. Everett passed away in January of 2011.
The Florida FFA Hall of Fame began in 2007 to pay tribute to those outstanding individuals who have helped make Florida FFA the premier youth leadership organization in the state. Because of the support of these individuals, Florida FFA has become home to more than 17,000 FFA members in more than 340 FFA chapters across the state.
FFA members are engaged in a wide range of agricultural education activities, leading to more than 300 professional career opportunities in the agricultural industry. “It is a true honor to induct five individuals who have dedicated their lives and careers to advancing the mission and vision of Florida FFA,” said Michael Rogalsky, Executive Director of the Florida FFA Foundation. “This is just a small token of our appreciation for the impact they have made and continue to make each day.” The other inductees are Belinda G. Chason, Dennis Der, Jimmy Harrell, and Dr. Edward Osborne.
J.M. “Murph” Everett began a career in Agricultural Education in 1956 after serving in the US Army. His career began at Lafayette High School, where he taught for seventeen years before transferring to Trenton High School. In 1994, he left Trenton High School and spent two more years teaching at Suwannee High School before retirement in 1995. J.M. built agriculture education programs that enhanced the education and leadership of the students that he taught. He coached many judging teams and encouraged students to participate in the leadership continuums available through the FFA. J.M.’s dedication to the youth in Gilchrist County was extended after his retirement by his election to the Gilchrist County School Board where he served from 1996-2004. Many students found their vocational calling in agriculture, business, government and other fields due to J.M.’s influence. He always embraced new technology and methodology.
The Florida FFA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Monday, September 24, 2018 at the Florida FFA Leadership Training Center in Haines City, Florida. More information including tickets can be found by contacting Michael Rogalsky at: Michael.rogalsky@flaffa.org.